The Perth Modernian Society is an Association of former students and staff. There are two levels of membership – Registered Membership which is FREE and Contributing Membership which is $120 ($80 for Year 12 Graduates) for a four year membership. Details of membership benefits are on the web site. Membership can be made electronically through the Society’s web page.

The executive meets twice per term in the History Centre. The Society produces a quarterly e-newsletter for Registered Members and an annual publication for Contributing Members.

The alumni body believes that amongst all government schools in WA and indeed in Australia, Perth Modern School can confidently look to the future knowing that it has a large, strong and well-organised alumni organisation that always stands ready to support the school in many meaningful ways, as well as serving a wide range of other functions for the Society’s members.

The Council of the Perth Modernian Society knows that this illustrious school is a lighthouse for quality public education and that it has never been in better shape than it is now. Details of current Alumni events, membership application forms and other current news is available on the Perth Modernian Society website:

The Society organises a variety of reunions and social functions. Up-to-date information is available from the Society’s website.

Please click here for the report from the 2018 Annual Modernian Reunion.

Sub-Committees The Perth Modernian Society has two major sub-committees:

1. The Sphinx Foundation Inc. whose current major project is raising the capital to fund scholarships for current students. The Sphinx Scholarship Fund appeal's purpose is to assist deserving students meet their potential. The Sphinx Foundation between 2010 and 2013 has already provided 74 Sphinx Scholarship and Bursary awards to incoming students (Year 8) with demonstrated financial needs or other circumstances, or to Year 10 students who have demonstrated high achievement in specific academic subjects. All donations to this worthy appeal are Tax Deductible.

2. The Historical and Museum Committee curates the archival records, ensures the preservation of heritage artifacts and manages the recently established History Centre. The committee welcomes biographical information, photographs and memorabilia related to the School, former staff and ex-students. It also responds to family requests for information about past scholars and to requests related to curriculum requirements from School staff and students.

Contact with the Executives of these groups may be made by mail to the school, through phoning the Society on 9487 1192 or by e-mail to: [email protected].

Society Memorabilia
The Society has available an Alumni Tie and an Alumni watch. In 2005 the Sphinx Foundation launched the book ‘Perth Modern School: the History and the Heritage’. ($50 + pp). For information on how to purchase the memorabilia please email the above address or visit the website of the Society. (NOTE: Perth Modern School also has a collection of Memorabilia items for sale. See Memorabilia tab on this website for more details.)

The date of the Annual Reunion each year is advertised on the Society’s website as soon as the date is set. Decade Reunions (ie in 2019 reunions for the Class of 1959, 1969, 1979, 1989 etc) are held every year – interested past students should make email contact.